Our first day at WIL Research - Reisverslag uit Harrogate, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Simone Ruijs - WaarBenJij.nu Our first day at WIL Research - Reisverslag uit Harrogate, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Simone Ruijs - WaarBenJij.nu

Our first day at WIL Research

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Simone

13 Oktober 2014 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Harrogate

Today we had our first day at WIL Research. But before I tell all about it, I will tell about the moments before arriving.
To start, we woke up at 8 o'clock even though it is only a 20 minutes/half a hour walk and we had to be there at 9:30 am. We did this because we wanted to leave at a quarter before 9 and this way be sure that we would arrive on time at our first day.
Before leaving, we are some breakfast and the little, but cute, table in our room. We had bought some bread yesterday, which is already cut beforehand, and I brought some De Ruijter's from holland so we had something to put on our bread in the morning. After eating and brushing our teeth, we had to hurry a little bit because it was already 8:50 am.
On our way, we saw this amazing view and I just had to stop to make a picture of it (see pictures).
At 9:20 am we reached the building where WIL Research is located and we went to the receptionist. He asked us who we wanted to see and when we answered he called Victoria to tell her that we were waiting downstairs. However, Victoria was calling to the receptionist at the same time to tell him that she was almost there. This meant that we had to wait a few minutes before Victoria walked in. We first introduced ourselves and then we followed Victoria to the room which belonged with WIL Research, there a different companies situated in the same building.
After introducing ourselves to the other women working at the moment, we had to each sit at our own desk and we had to start the laptops. I got one from there and Sanne had brought one from the part of WIL Research in the Netherlands. However, when Victoria started to explain what we had to do, it came almost directly clear that the laptop that I was supposed to use didn't function properly. The IT team wasn't there so I just had to try something's myself and after a hour of two of just trying to make it work, I gave up and we decided that the best thing to do was to work together on one laptop. So one person (mainly me) typed and the other uses the mouse (mainly Sanne).
At 4:30 pm we were finished with our work for the day so we decided to leave. However we didn't directly go to our hotel room, we first went into the town to eat something and to make sure that we didn't had to leave again when we where warm and dry (it had been raining all day so it was wet outside).
We decided to first buy something to eat for tomorrow and after that we would go to a place to eat dinner. At the shop it took quite some time to find something to eat, there were only sandwiches which looked really awful (still not a big fan of the already made sandwiches).
When we finally found something, we decided to go eat at the Subway. This because Sanne really wanted to, to be honest I was not really sure about it because I don't like sandwiches and I had never been to the Subway before. Considering the fact that I don't like tomatoes and things like that, I made a sandwich with only chicken on it (see picture). Which had a really stupid price because I had almost nothing on it and Sanne did have a lot on it, compared to mine, but mine was way more expensive then Sanne's. When we came outside it was really cold so we decided that we would go to Starbucks to get some coffee and this way we would be able to warm our hands while walking back to the hotel. This was also really special because Sanne had never been to a Starbucks, so I just had to make a picture of us with our coffee (see pictures).
When we almost reached our hotel, I slipped and because I wanted to catch myself, my coffee fell. I fell pretty hard on my ass and it still hurts a bit...
When we eventually did reach our hotel, I decided to first finish my Lb work for school which had to be handed the next day, and then to take a shower. After we were both showered, the fire alarm went of. We first thought that it was because of us and our hot shower so we quickly opened some windows. However the alarm still kept going and we didn't know how to put it off. So we decided to follow the paper which said what to do during a fire. When we came outside the hotel, the fire alarm stopped and it looked like no one else had reacted but us. So we were planning on going to the reception to ask what was going on. However, when we almost reached the reception someone told us that it was a false alarm and we went back to our room. Here I decided to catch up with the series that I had missed last week and Sanne watched a movie on television. After this it was pretty late so Sanne went to go to sleep and I decided to quickly write this now it is still fresh in my mind. But now it is even later so I'm going to sleep now. Goodnight world!
Xoxo




  • 14 Oktober 2014 - 11:12

    Karin:

    Hé Simone,
    Leuk stukje! Fijn dat we je nu kunnen volgen via deze site. Heel veel plezier en tot gauw!

    Groetjes,

    Karin

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigd Koninkrijk, Harrogate

Simone

Actief sinds 21 Sept. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 369
Totaal aantal bezoekers 7202

Voorgaande reizen:

11 Oktober 2014 - 18 Oktober 2014

EIO in Harrogate

Landen bezocht: